Phiona Nyamutoro Wins National Female Youth MP Seat

Phiona Nyamutoro is the new Female National Youth MP. Nyamutoro of the National Resistance Movement –NRM party, polled 296 votes and was followed by Prima Tukamushabe who got 66 votes.

The race attracted 12 candidates who included Amongin Prisca Nangiro, Busomoke Marcelina, Kaija Doreen, Kasekende Angela Nakuya, Kembabazi Doreen, Kenyangi Janet Kikwaya, Munooza Desire, Musenero Hajira, Musimenta Givendolinn and Natukunda Charlotte.

The elections which were supposed to close at 4 pm on Friday failed to take off as the youth delegates turned rowdy demanding that each of them is paid 2 million Shillings before voting for the candidates.

According to election officials, each delegate was supposed to receive 530,000 Shillings as facilitation. A bitter exchange ensued between the youths, EC and security officials as all efforts to negotiate a common figure failed.

It was later agreed that each delegate receives 750,000 Shillings.

Nyamutoro said she will focus on leadership for the young people. 

Meanwhile some of the youth delegates who participated in voting commended Nyamutoro for the tireless campaign effort.

They, however, cautioned her to put emphasis on empowering the youths.  

Nyamutoroo who hails from Nebbi district, becomes the first female youth  MP from West Nile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *